The 6 trigoleadores of Chilean football

For the third consecutive year, the striker from Universidad Católica, Fernando Zampedrihe kept the title of top scorer in the First Division Championship.

The ‘Bull’ scored 18 goals in 29 games in the 2022 competition, with an average of one goal every 142 minutes. In 2020 he scored 20 conquests, one every 131′. While, in 2021, there were 23 goals, sharing first place with Gonzalo Sosa de Melipilla, with an average of one goal every 109′.

In the history of the First Division, six players managed to be top scorers in the First Division, in three consecutive tournaments, which makes them top scorers. And Zampedri is the fifth to achieve it with the format of long tournaments.

The last wheat harvester had been Stephen Walls. The legendary striker was the top scorer in three consecutive short tournaments, all with Colo Colo: Clausura 2014 (16 goals, where he won the historic star 30), Apertura 2014 (12 goals) and Clausura 2015 (11 goals).

To find a wheather in long tournaments, you have to go back three decades. Ruben Martinez He achieved it in two different clubs, first in 1989 with Cobresal, where he scored 25 goals. Later, with Colo Colo, he was champion and top scorer in the 1990 championships (22 goals) and 1991 (23 conquests).

Chilean soccer top scorers in First Division Championships

The first wheat grower was the Paraguayan Eladio Zarate, who established himself as the top scorer in the 1967, 1968 and 1969 tournaments, wearing the Unión Española shirt. The Guaraní striker repeated that event in 1971, already defending Universidad de Chile. In 1970 the top scorer was Osvaldo Castro with 36 and Zárate ranked third with 22, behind ‘Pata Bendita’ and Sergio Messen, with 28. He could have been a pentascorer, something that has never happened. Neither does the tetra…

Two great gunners shared the title of top scorer in the Chilean league for six consecutive years. oscar fabbianian Argentine who would later become a Chilean national, achieved it with Palestino in 1976, 1977 and 1978. And the following year, the reign of Carlos Cassellywho with Colo Colo was the top scorer in 1979, 1980 and 1981.

  • Eladio Zarate: 1967, 1968, 1969
  • Oscar Fabbiani: 1976, 1977, 1978
  • Carlos Caszely: 1979, 1980, 1981
  • Ruben Martinez: 1989, 1990, 1991
  • Esteban Paredes: Closing 2014, Opening 2014, Closing 2015
  • Fernando Zampedri: 2020, 2021, 2022